Call for Papers

Pan African Conference on Science, Computing and Telecommunications PACT 2015, Kampala, Uganda

July 27 – 29, 2015

Fairway Hotel, 1-2 Kafu Road, Kampala

Technically Sponsored by IEEE

Co-Hosted by

Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology,Tanzania,

University of Zambia, Lusaka

Technically Sponsored by

International Institute of Engineering and Technology

PACT Objectives

The objective of PACT is to support and stimulate active productive research which could strengthen the technical foundations of engineers and scientists in the continent, develop strong technical foundations and skills and lead to new small to medium enterprises within the African sub-continent. We also seek to encourage the emergence offunctionally skilled technocrats within the continent.
We invite research papers, workshop proposals, and panel proposals on the following topics listed here. The list is not exhaustive. Tutorials and Sessions which will impact on and enhance post graduate research within the continent will be considered. Training Workshops on research software tools such as Matlab, Scilab, Althium, Genesys, COMSOL Multiphysics and others are welcome. The conference also provides a forum for students to compete for best papers and receive an award. Registration fees for student authors are also discounted


Technical Program Tracks

The conference will accept paper submissions in areas related to the following broad themes:

1.   Devices and Mobile Phone Applications and Software
2.   Wireless Mobile Communications (3G, 4G and 5G)
3.   Sensors and Remote Sensing
4.   ICT, e-Learning and e-Education
5.   ICT for Development
6.   Smart Grid and Energy Harvesting
7.   elecommunications
8.   Applied Mathematics
9.   Computer Networks
10.  Scientific Computing
11.  Computational Intelligence and Forensics
12.  Environmental and Sustainability
13.  Radio Frequency and Microwave Engineering
14.  Cloud Computing
15.  Food Security (Policies & Technical aspects)

Demonstrators and Products Tracks

PACT has made provision in 2015 for display and demonstration of working software and hardware that are relevant to African manufacturing base. We will consider working prototypes from university students, staff and industry.

Paper Submissions

Original research papers containing new research findings which have not been submitted concurrently to any other publication outlets such conferences, Journals and books are sought from authors. Full length papers must be limited for six A4 single-line spacing pages (10 point font size minimum) and formatted following the IEEE conference paper format. Student papers are also limited to between three and four A4 single-line spacing pages.

PACT has adopted the IEEE referencing format for all its publications. Paper submission is via the conference site at and the use of EDAS. Authors should access EDAS through the conference site for all submissions and by all means try not to email papers directly to Track or Conference Chair persons as this makes reviewing of your papers messy and difficult. All papers submitted to the conference will be reviewed by at least two international reviewers. Papers which are registered and presented during the conference will be included in the conference proceedings with an ISBN to facilitate access and referencing.


Deadline for expression of interest in PACT tutorials:    March 31, 2015
Deadline for submission of full length papers:               June 10, 2015
Deadline for submission of student abstracts:              
June 10, 2015
Deadline of notification of authors:                                
June 20, 2015
Deadline of final paper submissions:                            
June 27, 2015
Deadline for Notification of Tutorials:                             May 21, 2015

Post Conference Publications:
All papers accepted and presented at the conference will be submitted to Compendex and SCOPUS for indexing. If and when we secure the IEEE technical sponsorship, reviewed papers which meet the IEEE requirements and presented during the conference will be forwarded to the IEEE for consideration for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore. Papers will also be submitted to for inclusion in their conferences database for worldwide access and indexing.
Despite the above undertaking, authors whose papers are found to be technically relevant and suitable as possible journal publications will be invited to extend their PACT conference papers to full length journal papers of not less than 12 pages. Such extensions must ensure that the extended paper is clearly significantly different in contents from the paper presented during the conference. They will be further reviewed and if the extended papers are accepted by the Journals they will be included in special 2015 issues of:
a)    African Journal of Information and Communication Technology;
b)    African Journal of Informatics
c)    Journal of Machine to Machine Communications (River Publishers, Denmark; 2016 Issues);

Proceedings of PACT 2013, Lusaka Zambia in IEEE Xplore

Proceedings of PACT 2014, Arusha Tanzania in IEEE Xplore


Local Organising Committee/Contact details:

Dr Gilbert Maiga, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda (Chair, Local Organising Committee).E-mail:
Mr Henry Seregunda (Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda). E-mail:

Dr Reza Malekian, University of Pretoria (South African contact)
Dr Paul Okuthe Kogeda (TUT, Pretoria)
Dr Yaw Nkansah-Gyekye (NM-AIST, Arusha, Tanzania)
Ms. Mampilo Phahlane, University of South Africa
Dr Vitalis Ndume, Arusha, Tanzania
Dr  Jackson Phiri, UNZA, Lusaka, Tanzania

Technical Committee

Prof Ito Atsushi (Utsunomiya University, Japan)
Ms. Dina Machuve; (NM-AIST, Arusha, Tanzania)
Mr Vitalis Ndume (NM-AIST, Arusha, Tanzania)
Mr Ramadhani Sinde (NM-AIST, Arusha, Tanzania)
Dr Jackson Phiri (University of Zambia, Lusaka, Zambia)
Dr Paul Kogeda (Tshwane University of Technology, Pretoria, South Africa)
Prof Karim Djouani (Tshwane University of Technology, Pretoria, South Africa)
Prof Johnson I Agbinya (Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia)
Dr Zaipuna O. Yonah (Chairperson IEEE Tanzania Section)
Dr Yaw Nkansah-Gyekye (NM-AIST, Arusha, Tanzania)
Mr David Zulu (University of Zambia, Lusaka)
Dr Sam Anael (Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science & Technology, Tanzania)
Prof. Ryszard Klempous (Wroclaw, Poland)
Prof. Mari Carmen Aguayo-Torres (University of Malaga, Spain)
Prof Taan Elali, King Faisal University, Saudi Arabia
Prof. Christian Omlin, South Africa
Dr. Douglas Kunda, Mulungushi  University, Zambia
Mr. Collins Chinyama, The University of Zambia
Dr Yesufu Thomas (OAU, Nigeria)
Dr Khalid Aboura, University of Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Dr Frank Jiang, ADFA, Australia
Dr Rashed Saeed, IIUM, Malaysia
Dr Theophile K. Dagba, University of Benin, Bénin Republic
Prof. Marc Lobelle, Université Catholique de Louvain (Belgium)
Prof. Jerzy Surma, Warsaw School of Economics, Poland
Prof. Olgierd Unold, Wroclaw University of Technology (Poland)
Dr Daton MEDENOU, University of Abomey-Calavi, Bénin 


Honorary Committee

To be constituted with more honorary persons

Conference Chairs

Associate Professor Johnson I Agbinya, Chair Technical Program Committee, Melbourne Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (
Dr Jackson Phiri, University of Zambia, Lusaka ((
Dr Reza Malekian (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
Dr Gilbert Maiga, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda